Thursday, October 3, 2013

So What Exactly Is Happening with the 2nd Set, Anyway?

We have so many wonderful readers who have followed the women in the Newport Ladies Book Club on the first leg of their journeys, and now some readers are eagerly asking for clarification about what's happening with the second set because they don't want to miss a single book. (Hooray!)

For a brief period, several parts of the publishing equation were in flux, so we couldn't answer the questions with clarity. While we still don't have exact dates, we do have some solid information and thought it would be good to pass it along to our fans!

A brief refresher: 
The first set of Newport Ladies titles cover October through February, and feature Olivia, Daisy, Paige, and Athena. While they were published in that order, they are parallel stories, so they can be read in any order.

Those who have read them all will know how you'll see the other characters pop up in each book, along with elements of what happens in their stories, but you won't know the end of their story until you read their book, and you won't know what they're really thinking and feeling and all of that without reading their book.

Now for the second set! 
We get to focus on the other four ladies in the book club, and the timeline begins where the first set left off, beginning in February and covering the next four months. These are also parallel novels, but you'll find some differences from the last set.

For one thing, there is less cross-over in plots this time. Some of that was a result of logistics: the four of us weren't able to get together for planning and writing sessions quite as much as with the first set. This means that as before, each book stands alone; it may stand even more alone than the titles in the first set, if that makes sense.

Another change is in the covers, which have a slightly different feel to them, and which don't include the series banner. The titles are now more than the main character's name.

Here's the current lineup:

Shannon's Hope, by Josi S. Kilpack. Release date: July 2013
On sale now, in both paperback and e-book on Kindle or on the Deseret Book e-bookshelf!

Ruby's Secret, by Heather B. Moore. Release date: Fall 2013.

Victoria's Promise, by Julie Wright. Release date: Early 2014.

Ilana's Wish, by Annette Lyon. Release date: Spring 2014.

This series has been an absolute labor of love for us. We've all learned so much in the process, and the stories these books tell are ones dear to our hearts.

As always, thank you so much for your support of the series! We had a feeling that there were readers itching for women's fiction, and seeing the concept of the series turn into published books read by excited fans has been enormously fulfilling!


  1. I didn't realize a second set had been started until about two weeks ago. I picked up both Shannon & Ruby's stories, which I am truly enjoying. Thank you for your time, collaboration, and story-telling.

  2. Thank you for the clear explanation of both series! The whole idea is so endlessly intriguing. Can't wait to read the new set!